Blue Note BSIN04490724 (2 CD-Set) (RVG)

Rollins, Sonny - A Night At The Village Vanguard (2 CD-Set) (RVG)

Sonny Rollins - A Night At The Village Vanguard.
Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone), Donald Bailey (bass), Wilbur Ware (bass), Pete LaRoca (bass), Elvin Jones (drums).
Recorded on November 3, 1957.
The mid-fifties was an astonishing period for this saxophone genius. And for all his great work in this era, this daring album and "Saxophone Colossus" remain his crowning achievements. With just bass (Wilbur Ware) and drums (Elvin Jones) in support, Rollins creates tenor saxophone improvisations of increible beauty and inexhaustible creativity. Twenty years after the initial album, a double album containing the rest of the releasable material from this magic night at the Village Vanguard was issued. With the recent re-discovery of the original tapes, the performance has been assembled as it happened and beautifully remastered by original engineer with superb depth of sound. Several of Sonny's stage announcements have been added to master for the first time.
CD 1:
1. A Night In Tunisia (Afternoon) (08:16)
2. I've Got You Under My Skin (Afternoon) (10:03)
3. A Night In Tunisia (Evening) (09:04)
4. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise (Evening) (06:44)
5. Four (Evening) (08:26)
6. Introduction (#1) (00:21)
7. Woody 'N You (Evening) (08:29)
8. Introduction (#2) (00:37)
9. Old Devil Moon (08:20)

CD 2:
1. What Is This Thing Called Love? (Evening) (14:04)
2. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise (08:03)
3. Sonnymoon For Two (Evening) (08:47)
4. I Can't Get Started (04:55)
5. I'll Remember April (Evening) (09:20)
6. Get Happy (Evening) (09:09)
7. Striver's Row (Evening) (05:59)
8. All The Things You Are (Evening) (06:46)
9. Get Happy (04:39)
Released 1999.
Price: 19,90 EUR