Blue Note BSIN02094397

Harris, Stefon - African Tarantella

Stefon Harris - African Tarantella (Dances with Duke)
The talented modern jazz vibraphonist Stefon Harris branches out into classic jazz territory on this series of tributes to the legendary Duke Ellington. Personnel: Stefon Harris (vibraphone, marimba); Greg Tardy (clarinet); Steve Turre (trombone); Xavier Davis (piano); Derrick Hodge (bass instrument); Terreon Gully (drums). Down Beat (p. 82) - 4 stars out of 5 – “Meditative, tasteful an occasionally swinging, this disc is an excellent contemporary exploration into the world of Ellington.”
From The New Orleans Suite By Duke Ellington & Billy Strayhorn
1. Thank's For The Beautiful Land On The Delta (06:03)
2. Portrait Of Wellman Braud (06:00)
3. Bourbon Street Jingling Jollies (03:55)
From The Queen's Suite By Duke Ellington
4. Sunset And The Mocking Bird (05:46)
5. The Single Petal Of A Rose (04:57)
From The Gardner Meditations By Stefan Harris
6. Memoirs Of A Frozen Summer (06:56)
7. African tarantella (09:00)
8. Dancing Enigma (10:19)
9. Keine Titelinformation (01:43)
Released 2006.
Price: 18,90 EUR