Prestige BSIN02339265

Modern Jazz Quartet - Django (RVG)

Django put the Modern Jazz Quartet on the international musical map. Although the group, which traced its beginnings to Dizzy Gillespie’s breakthrough big band of the 1946-47, had previously drawn attention, Django crystallized the MJQ’s elegant approach to blending American improvisational and European classical music. Pianist / musical director John Lewis (1920-2001), with the innovative vibist Milt Jackson (1923-1999) as foremost soloist, spearheaded the MJQ’s trailblazing work—from the blues to Basie, from Bach to bop. The first notes of the title piece, Lewis’s elegy to the peerless Belgian gypsy guitarist Django Reinhardt, firmly established a new jazz tone. The fugue that was “The Queen’s Fancy” and the bebop-in-counterpoint theme statement of “One Bass Hit” further accomplished the mission. With original MJQ drummer Kenny Clarke (1914-1985), in his final recordings with the ensemble, and bassist Percy Heath (1923-2005) lightly swinging with precision, Django is a classic fusion of classical forms. (concordmusicgroup. com)
1. Django
2. One Bass Hit
3. La Ronde Suite
4. The Queen's Fancy
5. Delaunay's Dilemma
6. Autumn In New York
7. But Not For Me
8. Milano
Released 2006.
Price: 10,90 EUR